I recently read an article about why the human brain prefers paper. Maybe puppies and kittens prefer paper, but I do not.

There are several reasons why I actually prefer to use the screen of a tablet device, not the least of which is that I can store copious amounts of the printed word and even sketches and diagrams within the memory of such a device. Before that, I used a computer. Also, due to being out of work for most of the last four years, it comes in handy for carrying my résumé.

One thing that is so cool is that I have digital versions of epic stories printed across several volumes all in one place. No longer do I have to scour bookstores for the next in the Coyote series or the Galactic Center series. I have them right on my tablet, and have been able to finally read them in the order intended, instead of the confusing order in which they reach the stores. Thank God for Amazon and iBooks!!

I have been digital since 1996. All of my correspondence as well as my bills and statements are in my computer, and backed up to at least two external storage drives. So, even as a fifty-something, I am very comfortable with living in a digital world.

Of course, I still write in a little green notebook that which I have need to reference later. Also, I log down each dollar spent as I am on a really tight budget. After it’s used up, I toss it out for a new one. Come on, now; I am not going to preserve script that even I cannot read after writing it.

Thinking about it now, I realize my handwriting could be a kind of Rosetta Stone for those needing to decipher the scrawl of other writers or that of the odd schmuck stuck on a desert isle with a volley ball named Wilson.

212008-castaway

Wilson is watching you…

Another use I have found for my tablet is as a sleep aid. That is, when reading a long novel such as War And Peace, I usually doze off after reading only a couple of paragraphs. I’m not sure about the war part, but I do get a lot of peaceful sleep.

I’ve heard that it may be that the refresh rate induces sleep. That may be, but I think not. For instance, I reread The Hunt For Red October and was able to read it in one sitting. Still a riveting novel after all these years.

Anyway, I do still use paper. Airplanes made of the stuff provide endless delight to all who watch them fly. You know, I even made a kite from balsa wood and newsprint once.

Paper does have other advantages, which is incident in its construction. Books made of it don’t break when dropped. It also does not require electricity to operate. When electricity becomes as permanent as the pages between my fingers, I think others will catch on, as I have, to the permanence of the flat screen.

