Tags

,

Something happened to me yesterday that I thought, at the start, would be the end of all my troubles. Alas, it was not to be.

You see, I had just laid down to a nap after returning from the Internet Café intensive internet job hunt. Being unemployed, I have limited funds for gasoline purchase, thus reducing my ability for face to face meetings when delivering resumés or returning applications. At any rate, I digress.

I was just in that really nice area that was not quite slumber. So it was a bit annoying when the cell rang. But looking at the number, I just KNEW that it was an important call!

Of course I answered it. And those all important words I heard from the female voice on the other end: “I’m calling about the interview.” Oh man, after all this time I was finally going to get a real interview!!

She relayed to me her name and asked what would be a good time. I said I could be ready in a few minutes. She told me that she thought that was great. We talked a few minutes more, ironing out the place to meet (McDonald’s); what I’d wear. Even got it down to the table and which side I’d be sitting on.

Then she asked, “What’s the hourly wage?”

I said, “You’re asking me”?

“Mr. Eismann, if you don’t want me to work for you, why don’t you just say so?”

You know, I was so flabbergasted that I just hung up the phone. She kept calling and I finally had to silence the ringer so I could get back to my nap.

