Tags

, , ,

It is really hot today, except where I am, indoors. I know I sound like I am whining, but it is really hot out there. From the lack of shadows, the sun is directly overhead. You can see waves and waves of heat radiating off the sidewalks. I’m not sure, but I think the concrete is melting.

You know, it gets so hot here. I used to think the weather reports were just lies. Daytime temperatures for us living near the Equator are always quoted to us as expected high of either 87 or 89 degrees Fahrenheit. Not 79, 86 or even 99. No, those temps are reserved for that mysterious effect known as ‘heat index’. I think one time it was reported that a ‘temperature heat index’ would be 115. However, I do know that was wishful thinking. Or something.

Anyway, it rained. Thus dashing the hopes of the weather guesser for a new record.

But I am a paranoid who trusts no government. So I bought a thermometer. Lo and behold, the temperature readings were right on the money, 7 days out of 6. However, I didn’t stop there. being also distrustful of companies, I bought a thermometer from a competitor. It also coincided with the predictions from the disembodied radio voice. What I didn’t know was that the second thermometer maker was actually the same company. Argh!! It was the same thermometer, but in a different case. Yet again I was snookered by the evil machinations of a thermometer manufacturer.

But it does get hot. That heat index thing is actually what it’s like when conditions are ideal. You know, standing out there in the hot sun, without a hat, wind not blowing and not a single solitary cloud in the sky. As if a cloud seventeen thousand feet high and fourteen miles away could make a difference.

Even at night it’s hot. Living here for over twenty years, I have yet to realize the temperature even dropping half a degree in the wee hours of the morning. That’s cause the sun is directly overhead all day, even at night.

Yeah, some get sunset. We just get a variation on sunburn.

Someone once pointed out to me that I made no sense, but that Eskimos had whole stretches of months where the sun never sets. I had to show him the error of his thinking. For even as the sun may not set at the North Pole, one can look, at eye level, right across and see its pale disk as it shines wanly on the frozen wastes. Here, it is directly overhead, giving us the solar equivalent of a beatdown.

After living here twenty plus years, the only Greek Element is the Fire one. Earth, Air and Water are too hot to help us.

